Hawks Bio/History


The Atlanta Hawks are a member of the National Basketball Association (NBA) and play in the eastern conference and southeastern division. The Hawks home court is in Atlanta, Georgia at the Philips Arena. They are owned by Tony Ressler and their head coach since 2013 is Mike Budenholzer. The Atlanta Hawks began due to the establishment of the Tri-Cities Blackhawks in 1946. The club was formerly owned by Ben Kerner and was in the city of Milwaukee, where their name actually changed to the Hawks. They then moved the team to St. Louis in 1955, where they won their first and only NBA championship in 1958. In 1968 Kerner brought the Hawks down to Atlanta where they have been ever since. Ted Turner bought the team in 1977 and was influential in keeping the Hawks in Atlanta. The Hawks have four retired numbers, number 21 Dominique Wilkens, number 9 Bob Pettit, number 23 Lou Hudson, and number 55 Dikembe Mutombo. They have won four conference titles and five division titles, the most recent being last year in 2015.

Owner: Tony Ressler

Head Coach: Mike Budenholzer

General Manager: Wes Wilcox

Team Colors: Torch Red, Volt Green, Georgia Granite Gray, White

Championships: 1958

Conference titles: 1957, 1958, 1960, 1961

Division titles: 1970, 1980, 1987, 1994, 2015

Retired Numbers: 9, 21, 23, 40


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s